A Poem of Belief by a Jewish Prisoner in a Nazi Concentration Camp

13 Nov

I thought I’d share this poem that I found on the internet. It was written during WW2, on the wall of a cellar, by a Jew in the Cologne concentration camp.

“I believe in the sun
even when it is not shining
And I believe in love,
even when there’s no one there.
And I believe in God,
even when he is silent.

I believe through any trial,
there is always a way
But sometimes in this suffering
and hopeless despair
My heart cries for shelter,
to know someone’s there
But a voice rises within me, saying hold on
my child, I’ll give you strength,
I’ll give you hope. Just stay a little while.

I believe in the sun
even when it is not shining
And I believe in love
even when there’s no one there
But I believe in God
even when he is silent
I believe through any trial
there is always a way.

May there someday be sunshine
May there someday be happiness
May there someday be love
May there someday be peace….”

– Uknown

9 Responses to “A Poem of Belief by a Jewish Prisoner in a Nazi Concentration Camp”

  1. Kelsey Andrews October 18, 2014 at 3:54 pm #

    This always makes me cry and gives me an eternal perspective on life.

  2. prayerwarriorpsychicnot March 13, 2015 at 7:59 am #

    Reblogged this on Tales of Unwise Paths.

  3. Jeanne Kolberg April 29, 2016 at 9:36 pm #

    I love the poem you posted, but I think a couple of corrections are in order. The original poem as it was found on a cellar wall in Nazi Germany is only 6 lines long. What you have posted here are the words to a song called ‘Inscription of Hope’, written by Z Randall Stroupe and based on the original poem. Hope this helps. Also, it is my understanding that the poem was written by a Jewish person in hiding, but there was no concentration camp at Cologne. Thanks for listening! 😊

    • Becky Y Weidinger November 9, 2016 at 3:05 am #

      i’ve always been moved by this poem, only the first 6 lines as you described however are what I’d ever heard. how do you know where the poem came from, the cellar, etc.? I’d really like to know the actual history

  4. eloise July 6, 2016 at 4:22 pm #

    does anyone know where i could find a picture of the original writing on the wall?

  5. Timothy S. July 16, 2016 at 6:00 pm #

    Great post!

  6. Lisa December 3, 2016 at 1:07 am #

    There was a song with these lyrics sung by Walter Anderson Players/Singers in Mississippi. It was very beautiful and moving 😐

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #9- Making Connections – Kathyabook - March 15, 2016

    […] currently finished the book Between Shades of Gray. I found a poem that related to the theme and the topic. The poem is written by a person who was in […]

  2. Reflections | Hillgrove Chorus - May 13, 2016

    […] by an anonymous Jew in the Cologne concentration camp during WW2. The text for the entire poem is HERE, but just a few lines […]

Leave a Reply

